Openbadges.me users can expire or revoke the badges that they have issued.
When creating an Open Badge, you can initially set an expiration period within the "Details" section. If you do add in an expiration date, then the badge will automatically expire when that period has ended. For example, if you assign an expiration date of "1 Year", then the badge will automatically expire after 1 year has passed since the badge was issued.
However, If you haven't set a badge to expire then you can intervene early to manually expire or revoke a badge.
One use of this may be that a user signs up for a yearly membership. They get to 6 months through their membership and choose to cancel. Their badge can then be revoked so they are no longer able to show and share that badge. When a badge is expired or revoked, the relevant text will overlay the badge graphic.
To manually expire or revoke a badge, you must click into “Issuing Badges > Manual Entry” and then hover over the specific badge and click “Summary”.
Once in the summary page, you will need to click on the recipient of who you want to expire or revoke the badge. Once clicked, you will be given information of when the badge expires, who issued it, when it was issued, and the badge status. The badge status will be “Issued”, “Expired”, or “Revoked”.
On the right, under the “Actions” heading, you will be given the options to expire or revoke the badge.
After you have expired the badge, the badge graphic will change on the single graphic, as well as the badge display page.
IMPORTANT: Once a badge has been expired or revoked, it cannot be changed back. The expiration and revoking functionality are irreversible.