Explaining the top banner - Home/Help/Sign out, Edit profile, and System messages

Updated by Helpdesk Coordinator -

Throughout your time on the web version of Myprogress, the top banner will normally be visible. From here you can edit profile, go to your Home page, get some Help, or Sign out.

 

Home - This will take you to your dashboards if you are a student or tutor user, or to Progress & Reports if you are an admin user.

Help – This is a link to the MyKnowledgeMap Help Desk. From here you can view the product guides, and ask the community for help if you can't get in touch with your system administrator.

Sign out - This ends your session on Myprogress and returns you to the login page. Please ensure you select this when using public computers.

 

System message - This is shown on all roles except for Course Administrator.

There are two options for removing this message, the first, Hide this message, which will hide it until you revisit your home page, and the other, Do not show this message again, which will remove it for future logins, unless it is reset by an administrator, or yourself via your edit profile options.

 

Edit profile - clicking on this opens a new page, as shown in the image below.

 

Edit your Name - This allows you to shorten your name, use a nickname, or to correct any spelling errors. Click Save changes at the bottom of the page when you have finished.

Changes made to your first name and your last name will only affect how your name appears at the top of the screen; it will not change the Username you sign in with. Other users will see this displayed name when dealing with assessments linked to your account.

Edit your email address - Please ensure this is an valid email address, as this is used for re-sending out forgotten passwords, as well as communication between tutors and students. If you change this from a university account to a personal account, please ensure you check the personal account when looking for correspondence. Click Save changes at the bottom of the page when you have finished.

 

Edit your password - Change your password by entering in your current password, then your new password in the required text fields. Passwords must be at least 7 characters long, and should only contain letters and numbers. Click Save changes at the bottom of the page when you have finished.

 

Profile picture - Your profile picture is shown on any assessments linked to your account. To add an image, click Choose file, then search for and select the image you want to use. Then click Upload image and wait for the image to upload. Click Save changes at the bottom of the page when you have finished.

You can clear your uploaded image, and reload a new one should you wish to update the picture.

If you are using Internet Explorer, there is some green instructional text that appears after pressing 'upload image': "Image uploaded. If your image has not appeared please refresh this page or sign back in." 

Please refresh the page when using Internet Explorer to see the newly updated image displayed. Other browsers seem to be able to display the new image immediately without needing a refresh.

 

System preferences - If you have selected Do not show this message again on the home page for the system messages, you can click here to re-show these. Click Save changes at the bottom of the page when you have finished.

 

Authentication providers - This is information for the System Administrator. It includes details of access via the web and the mobile device. This is only available to your organisation and will not be passed on to any third parties by MyKnowledgeMap Ltd.

Not what you're looking for? Why not ask the community?

Comments

Powered by Zendesk